Lonesome like a prisoner confined to his cell

living without you in this cold, dark world is hell

Sweet terms of endearment, silly nicknames

to you they’re all one in the same

Our deepest love is now gone, after summer sunshine, like nightly rains

taken for granted, it can never again be maintained

Despite the fact that I was always there

you were absent in my moment of despair

 

Early morning conversations, late night disputes

getting at each other with our elements of refute

Afterwards we’d laugh at our antics like fools

wondering how we got caught in debate’s deep pools

We’d move on to a happier tone

you discussing the things we could do alone

Changing the subject I’d make you emerald with envy

talking about this or that person who had hit on me

To make up for offending me, you’d speak words of romance

as if you were the awful sinner trying to pray up another chance

With these things spoken, certainly I couldn’t refused

But of course you knew I would never choose another over you

 

Suddenly you began to slip away

first one, two , then three days

We’d go without words spoken

making me realize that something between us was broken

Conversation lacked terribly, then would start again

you hinting at us “just being friends”

Truth be told,

like brittle walls stricken, my emotions began to crumble and fold

When announced that it was over, I tried to accept it to my best

your words became the dozier, the land it tread, my chest

I’m sure you didn’t digest the news the way I did,

but the pain inside was oh so vivid

 

It’s been two months since we’ve last spoken

Started picking up pieces but I’m still broken

Mighty funny how three days used to be eternity

now I question you every loving me

Venturing into this relationship, I should’ve done never,

now what we had is, and will always be, gone forever.

-Cam

